Episode 24: Gettin’ In The Way

I had a training appointment at LA Fitness with my trainer, Frederick so I headed for the gym.  Frederick was his real name, but Narika and I called him Fred the Fitness Nazi.  He loved to put us through what seemed like crazy, almost unbearable, about to pass out on the floor workouts that made sure we were drenched in sweat.  So much for trying to look cute when we went there.  Narika swore up and down she couldn’t stand him and she was going to stop training with him because he was crazy but she kept setting appointments.  He couldn’t be that crazy if she was still signing up every week.  But I sensed she was just finding herself digging The Fitness Nazi and she even admitted she would go out on a date with him if he asked.  I thought about maybe encouraging that and see what happened.  I got there right on time.

I felt great even though The Fitness Nazi pushed me way pass what I thought was my max.  He had me running around the gym, which I hated, and doing lunges until my legs felts like rubber bands. 

This man has got to be insane, I thought to myself. 

“Go ahead and give me 20 push-ups,” said Fred.

“You’re mighty quiet today Syrah.  Everything alright?” he asked.

“Oh, I’m good.  I just think it’s time for me to stop trying to fight the workout and let it work for me like it should.  You know?” I said “Plus, I know you appreciate my cooperation instead of whining and attempts to negotiate with the number of reps you tell me to do.”

“I like that.  That’s right.  Don’t fight the workout,” he said as he instructed me to run one more lap around the gym.  I gave him a mean look and cut my eyes but proceeded to get moving.  I managed to finish my “run of shame” around the gym and the workout without whining or complaining.  Fred even said he was proud of me for not whining like I usually did. 

It felt too good to whine and complain about the crazy workout sessions. 

I set up my next appointment with the Fitness Nazi and was out the door when I heard a voice say

“Excuse me, Syrah.”

I turned around and a woman with a worn out curly weave pony tail was standing there with her hand on her hip.  She was lighter skinned and probably in her mid 30s.  She had a sour look on her face and I had no clue who she was. 

“Yes, can I help you?” I asked.
“Yeah, you need to stop flirting with my man,” she said “You never know who’s watching you and I know it takes two, but you need to keep your distance.  I’m being nice now but, later on I will be a bitch about it.” 

“First of all, I don’t know you and who is your ‘man’?  Because if your so called man is flirting with me, he’s obviously not your man.  And another thing, if you want to be a bitch about whatever don’t wait until later, do you now,” I snapped.

“I’m Mareesa and I’m talking about Terry Taylor,” she said.

My mind was racing after she said that.  Was Terry a nominee for liar of the year?  Or was this heffa trying to get in my way?

 

It seemed like instantly I knew what this was about deep in my heart of hearts.

 

Click Here to See Video–>  Gettin in the Way – Jill Scott

Photo: www.last.fm

© 2008 by Satirah.  All rights reserved.

 

~ by satirah on May 12, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
