Episode 23: Joy

I was finishing up an article for my regular column in Essence Magazine and it was a snap for me.  I didn’t have to take any breaks and I was able to also submit a weekly article I was writing for the Atlanta Journal Constitution.  I had several writing assignments going on and those were just a few.  The day was going very well and it was almost time for lunch.  I thought about Terry and how I was glad he was there when Kevin got the bright idea to come over.  Terry took care of me and for the first time in a long time, I let someone do that.

I decided it was time for a well deserved break so I went into the kitchen to make me some hot green tea.  I had a session booked with my trainer so I went to change into my gym clothes while the tea brewed.

I turned on the radio and rummaged through my gym clothes until I found my shorts and a t-shirt.

A feeling of joy came all over me when Terry came across my mind again.  I smiled to myself as I thought about how good he smelled and the way he looked at me with those piercing brown eyes.  I could hear him say he loved me over and over again.  When Terry said he loved me, those words wiped out all the hateful, hurtful ones Kevin yelled out.

I put on my sneakers and headed back to the kitchen because the tea pot was singing.  I was singing too, making up my own words to the song on the radio.

My phone was ringing yet again and I answered as I sipped a little tea.

“Hello”

“Hey Baby, how’s everything going?  Writing today?” asked Terry.

“Hey you!  Everything’s good. I’m done with my first set of writing for the day so I’m happy about that,” I said “How’s it going with you?”

“I’m good too, just got a new account so I’m happy about that and just wanted to call you and tell you we gotta celebrate.  Syrah, this account is huge!  Sweetie, it is my biggest account ever!” he said.

“Wow, Terry, sounds like you’re having a fantastic day!  I’m happy for you honey,” I said.

“Thank you Baby!  Listen, you got a minute to talk?” he asked.

“Sure, what’s on your mind?” I asked him wondering what he wanted to talk about.

“I meant what I said Syrah.  I know you probably weren’t expecting me to say it.  Truth is, I never planned on saying it either but I did and I meant it.  I didn’t say that I loved you because I wanted to shut your ex up.  I said it because I do love you and I don’t ever want you to doubt that.” said Terry.

“Terry, I, I don’t know what to say,” I said.

“You don’t have to say anything Sweetie.  You’ll know what to say when the time comes and you’re ready,” he said.

“Terry, you just know how to make me smile.  I feel overjoyed and you’ve made me so happy,” I said.

“That’s what I want to keep doing, making you happy,” said Terry “Well, Baby, I have one last client to meet with for lunch.  So, why don’t I call you later and maybe we can meet up for a glass of wine or something if you’re not busy.”

“I would really like that,” I said “Call me later.”

“I will.  Talk to you later Sweetie,” said Terry.

We hung up and I sat on the bed, then laid back and looked up at the ceiling.

The radio was playing Blackstreet.  I hadn’t heard this song in a long time.  It was called Joy, exactly what I was feeling.  I closed my eyes and listened.  “Goodbye loneliness and so long to my heartache, now that joy has taken over, and decided to stay.”

Click Here –>See Video: Joy – Blackstreet

Photo: http://www.thugradio.net

© 2008 by Satirah.  All rights reserved.
~ by satirah on May 2, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
