Episode 16: I Remember

“Look Kevin, I am not interested in getting back with you after all we’ve been through. Plus, you can’t call me at a decent time. This is ridiculous. Seriously, are you drunk? Look, I forgive you and all but believe me, it’s been over 3 years and all of this is behind me in the past where it should be. I absolutely don’t feel anything for you anymore. You did me so wrong and I remember that. So I gave up on us a long time ago Kevin. Please just let this go,” I said.

“But Syrah, I need you. You were the best thing that ever happened to me. I know this now. I’m not the same anymore. I was stupid for what I did and I know I messed up. Just give me another chance,” Kevin begged.

“I’m flattered Kevin but, I don’t love you. I don’t want you and don’t need you. I’m not the same person and I don’t feel the same way. We can’t just start over like that because I don’t trust you. Besides, I’m seeing someone and I’m very happy with him,” I said.

Then the evil started coming out of Kevin. He showed his true colors like I was thinking he would after a few minutes. He had not changed. He started cussing and yelling. I thought it was funny so I started laughing. That made him even more furious.
“I know you’re seeing that punk, no good for nothing Terry Taylor. He ain’t nothin. You ain’t nothin either. So yall belong together then,” said Kevin angrily.

Now how did he know about Terry, I thought to myself. This man is crazy.

“I was wondering when the real you would show up. Kevin, don’t ever try this mess with me again and go get some help from somewhere because you sound like you’ve been drinking. Still on the bottle, huh? Kevin, you are trifling for this and pitiful and you need to do something about that. As a matter of fact, don’t ever, ever in this lifetime or the next, call me again,” I said and then hung up the phone.

That felt great! I never got a chance to do that before and I finally told him what I thought.

I remember the nights I cried over Kevin 3 years ago. Kevin and I had dated for 2 years and we were close. I guess not close enough though. It was one of the worst times of my life because I didn’t just lose my boyfriend, I lost my best friend after this. I even had to go see a counselor about it too. It seemed like I was sad and lonely for so long. I prayed and prayed to God to help me feel better everyday. He helped me I got better and stronger and the hurt faded away. My heart was bruised but not broken and it was extremely hard to get over Kevin because I trusted him with so much but I got over. I moved on with my life after about 3 months of depression and a few counseling sessions.

That was then. Now I was happy and I smiled when I thought about Terry as I closed my eyes to go back to sleep. I was going to have to call Narika in the morning to tell her about this nut that called me.

It’s funny how when you’re happy with someone new, “old flames” try to reignite themselves. They must sense it in the atmosphere that you’re happy so they try to sabotage it and claim they want you back. That’s the oldest trick ever. Unfortunately for Kevin, his little fake plea did not work at all. I remember what happened between us, but I had long forgiven him and forgotten the way it felt and how it hurt me. For me to be able to tell Kevin to get lost in so many words was proof that I was totally healed from that hurt even though I remember.

Click Here–> Video: I Remember – Keyshia Cole

Photo: www.keyshiacole.com

© 2008 by Satirah.  All rights reserved.
~ by satirah on April 8, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
