Episode 15: Please Don’t Go

I was in Dreamland about to walk down Fantasy Boulevard when my phone rang. I woke up and realized it was just after 3 o’clock in the morning. Who is calling me? And this better be an emergency, I thought to myself. I looked at the caller ID and didn’t recognize the phone number so after the third ring, I got curious and answered the phone.

“Hello?”

“Hey Baby, I know I probably woke you up,” said the caller “but I had to talk to you now.”

“What? Who is this?” I asked in an irritated voice “You must have the wrong number.”

“No, no, Syrah, Baby don’t hang up. It’s me, Kev,” he said “How are you Sweetheart? I miss you so much. I just can’t stop thinking about you.”

“Kevin, what do you want? Do you know what time it is? I am hanging up now,” I said.

“Wait, wait, wait, Syrah, I’m trying to talk to you. I’m serious and I’m ready this time, just give me another chance. Baby I miss you and I can’t be without you no more. I want us to be together again. I’m sorry for what went down. You know I am. I don’t know what else I can do,” said Kevin as he began to sound like he was starting to cry.

Kevin was my ex boyfriend and almost my fiancé until I busted him cheating on me with a woman he said he met at a jazz club one night. I went out of town one weekend for a singing gig I had in Charlotte and came back early just to spend time with him. I kept calling his cell phone and it would go straight to the voice mail. I had my suspicions so I decided it was time to do my own “Cheaters” investigation/stake out. Of course I called Narika and we drove her car to Kevin’s apartment, equipped with binoculars, snacks, and a video camera. The whole investigation/stake out lasted about 45 minutes.

I knew Kevin so well I knew what time he’d be slithering back in after a night out. Like I predicted, Kevin drove up with a woman following him in her battered two toned car so the plan was for her to spend the night because I saw her give him her overnight bag. Narika kept the camera rolling as I calmly and casually confronted the kissing and hugging couple in the parking lot. Kevin started acting like he had a speech impediment, stuttering like he needed therapy. I looked at the woman and realized I knew her. She went to my church and we’d spoken, even hung out in the same circle of people a couple of times at a few functions for singles. I directed my comments towards Kevin. She had the audacity to jump in and proceeded to tell me she was doing Kevin because I was too stuck up and holy to do it so I should thank her for handling business. Needless to say I was ready to slap the weave out of her head, but instead let her know she was a useless whore who would never have a man of her own because she couldn’t keep her diseased filled legs closed and that everybody knows she is the church ho that quite a few brothas had to take medication for 14 days after sleeping with her. I let Kevin know he was on candid camera and she was too. I told him it was over and he could keep “Monica Lewinsky” because I was done. I turned to walk away as I told Kevin a few more choice words. He pleaded with me not to go saying that he loved me and he was sorry for everything. He begged for me to stay and we could work it out. He yelled at “Monica” and told her to go home because she kept trying to jump in our conversation. “Syrah, I love you. Please don’t go,” is what Kevin said over and over, crying out after me as I walked away and never turned around. I just kept walking to Narika’s car with tears in my eyes.

Kevin came by apologizing and begging the next day. He even brought an engagement ring that we both looked at and picked out about 2 weeks before all this happened. I guess he called himself proposing. I said no even though I wanted him back at the time because I really loved him. You know how it is when you’re still weak initially. But I had to do what I had to do to keep my dignity! Plus, I was too hurt and I gave him an emphatic “no” to his wanna be proposal. I let him know he wasn’t irreplaceable and I was moving on. I packed up the few things he had at my apartment and put them in a box for him, including the video tape of him getting busted. I told him not to forget it on his way out.

Click Here –> Video: Please Don’t Go – Tank

© 2008 by Satirah.  All rights reserved.
~ by satirah on April 7, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
