Episode 2: Because of You

ne-yo.jpg

Episode #2

(Scroll down blog to read Episode #1.  Scroll up blog to read Episode #3.)

Later on that night, just like he said, Terry called. That was a new one for me. I stopped believing men some time ago when they said they’d call me later. Later usually meant he’d call me in a few days. Sometimes it meant he’d call in a week or even two weeks. Not this time. This man actually did what he said he’d do. I had already programmed his number into my phone so as soon as it rang, I knew it was him because my ring tone which was “Human Nature”, by Michael Jackson, began to play. Now that was music to my ears. I answered and an instant smile appeared as soon as he said hello.

“Hey there,” I said.

“Syrah, what’s going on with you this evening?” he asked.

“Nothing much, just finishing up some editing and relaxing. I’ve been trying to work on a few things but I know I need to just start fresh on it tomorrow,” I replied.

“I didn’t interrupt your work did I?” asked Terry.

“No, no, no, I do this to relax sometimes. You called at the perfect time,” I said.

“Oh, okay. Well Syrah, I wanted to see how your schedule was looking this week, you know, and find out when we could get together. I mean, if you want to hang out with a country boy like me,” he said jokingly, “How’s Friday night looking for you? You don’t have a hot date do you?”

“No, I don’t have a hot date, unless I’m going out with you Friday night,” I said.

“In that case, I would like to take you out to dinner on Friday night so we can hang out, chill, relax. What do you say?” Terry asked.

“I say I’d love to.”

The conversation went on for the next hour and a half until both of us agreed we needed to get ready for the next day, which was Tuesday. I had 3 days to get ready for my Friday night excitement. I had no clue what to wear and contemplated buying an outfit or at least a new top.

This date was the best thing that had happened to me in a long time. I felt so much joy inside of me. I couldn’t help but to smile every time I thought about actually going out on a date. It’s funny how something that simple and common meant the world to me. I was overwhelmed with happiness and I hadn’t even gone out on the date yet.

Terry and I talked daily and nightly during the next 3 days. We decided to meet at the restaurant Terry chose. It was a place I had never been before so this would be a good place for us to go. Terry said he’d never been there but heard about it. Hopefully this place would be the start of new memories for Terry and me.

When Friday arrived, I was way too excited. I bought that new outfit, even shoes. I could have done without the shoes, but I bought them anyway, despite the 50 plus pairs of shoes already crowding my closet space. I figured it was worth it. This was like a celebration because a date was something I had not been experiencing on a regular basis.

I met Terry at the neat little restaurant called Café Circa in downtown Atlanta. I was a little nervous. I took a tip from a guy friend of mine that sun dresses were happening and I should start wearing them to attract the men folk. So here I stood in my spaghetti strapped black sun dress with a white belt, topped off with turquoise accessories and the new turquoise, strappy, skinny, 3 inch heeled platform sandals I managed to find at the last minute at a little eccentric shop in the mall. Terry came dressed in black slacks, and a designer looking casual white shirt. “Must be Ralph Lauren or Kenneth Cole,” I thought to myself. “And why are we matching?”

We greeted each other with a hug and to my surprise, Terry pulled out a purple tulip from his back pocket. I told him I loved tulips in one of our phone conversations. I even told him how I wanted to travel to visit the Netherlands soon to see those wild tulip fields for myself. I gave him a long, warm hug and couldn’t help but to kiss him on the cheek for that. Oopsie. Real smooth right? Look, I was so thrilled, I let the emotions go and that’s just what happened naturally. No man had ever done that for me before. To add to it, I’m the huggy, kissy type. Terry didn’t seem to mind though. It made him laugh so I knew he was pleased. He hugged me back tight and close. I could have melted. Of course I took that moment to exhale. I actually felt a tad bit weak but it was okay because he was my strength for those few seconds. We finally let go, smiled, and headed inside.

The restaurant was a small, yet elegant spot, with a warm, inviting atmosphere. People seemed happy there, smiling, couples sitting close together on the pillow laden couches. Candles were lit on every table, creating an ambiance that made you feel a sense of well being. The sound of the music wasn’t too loud. It was smooth, serene and just loud enough to calm your spirit and ease your mind. When we arrived we were seated in a cozy little spot and at the same time it seemed to be the best table in the house. I looked over at Terry and smiled. He looked so handsome to me at that moment and I felt like the most beautiful woman in the place. I could hear “Because of You,” a sweet song I was diggin, by Ne-Yo, playing in the background as I smiled and took everything in.

Click Here –> Video: Because of You

Photo: Official Ne-Yo Website  © 2008 by Satirah. All rights reserved.
~ by satirah on March 10, 2008.

2 Responses to “Episode 2: Because of You”

  1. What a horrible place to stop. It sounds really sweet though. Did it end well? (the date not the relationship)

  2. The date went as well as Syrah could have imagined. It turned out to be the kind of date you dream about and pray to happen to you for a change. I’ll be posting it later tonight.

Leave a Reply

 
